List of players who won IPL Orange Cap so far

IPL offers an intense fight between batters and bowlers, and we often see a wide variety of innovative shots all over the ground. The tournament has witnessed batters hitting the ball out of the park with a superpower. Whether it’s AB de Villiers’ 360-degree dominance, Chris Gayle’s thunderstorms, David Warner’s power, or Virat Kohli’s aggression, IPL offers unlimited entertainment. 

Orange Cap is awarded to the top run-getter in the Indian Premier League at the end of the tournament. However, It often keeps juggling between one batsman to the other during the league stage. Ahead of the start of the remaining IPL 2021, let’s look at the players who bagged the IPL Orange cap so far in the tournament’s history.

2008 – Australia’s Shaun Marsh was the highest run-getter in the inaugural IPL. Playing for Kings XI Punjab, Marsh scored 616 runs in 11 matches and won the first Orange cap in IPL history.

2009 – With 572 runs in 12 matches, Chennai Super King’s Matthew Hayden bagged the second Orange Cap. 

2010 – Be it any format, Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar has his dominance everywhere. The third season of IPL witnessed The God of Cricket in his super form. Sachin scored 618 runs in 15 matches while representing Mumbai Indians.

2011 & 2012 – Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman Chris Gayle unleashed the beast mode in the fourth and fifth edition of IPL. With complete brilliance and dominance, Gayle hammered the opponent bowlers with his power shots. 

2013 – Mike Hussey bagged the orange Cap for 2013 with 733 runs while opening for Chennai Superkings.

2014 – The second Indian to don the Orange cap after Sachin Tendulkar was KKR’s Robin Uthappa with 660 runs from 16 matches. 

2015 – David Warner’s dominance in IPL started in 2015. He is the second batsman after Sachin, who bagged the cap while captaining the side.

2016 – Virat Kohli activated his beast mode throughout the season. He scored the most runs in four centuries, and his 993 is still the highest score in IPL.

2017 – David Warner bagged the cap after his incredible run with the bat in the season with 641 runs. 

2018 – Another SRH player to bag the cap after David Warner was Kane Williamson. Kane scored 735 runs while captaining the side. 

2019 – David Warner won the cap for the third time and thus remained the only player to don the cap thrice.

2020 – KL Rahul was the top scorer of the tournament with 670 runs.

2021 – ?

With KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Faf Du Plessis and Shaw in the race for Orange cap, we’ll have to wait and see for the Orange cap winner of the season. Watch IPL live on YuppTV and experience excitement like never before.